Are you Scary Brave? Wanna be?

Scary brave.

That’s what I want to define my 2015. How about you?

There’s a whole bunch of fake-brave out there: machismo is usually the first impostor. But there’s also the safe-brave and I’ve been doing that dance for years. It’s why I never joined the swim team. It’s why acting and singing were diversions and not passions. Fake-brave is when you only succeed at the things you know you can succeed at. Fake-brave is hedging your bets because you’re more concerned about your perfect record than showing up, day after day, and maybe failing or maybe knocking it out of the park. Because failing feels like you’re a failure.

scary brave | circling the story

I don’t want to be fake-brave anymore.

I want to be scary brave.

Scary brave isn’t the same as stupid-brave. I’m not going to be jumping off any cliffs just to be “brave.” No, scary brave is the perfect marrying of faith — of stepping out into the unknown — and assurance. It’s knowing that your performance doesn’t define you. It’s knowing that even if your house is a mess and you’re a mess and you’re kids are leaving their belongings like Hansel-and-Gretel crumbs dotting the floor, that that doesn’t define you. You’re still free to cuddle your kids, to speak grace upon grace to them, and pick up the pieces. There is a new day dawning. It’s walking into that boardroom with your great ideas and knowing they very well may get shot down; but going in anyway. It’s trying that new food, or talking to the homeless man with a twinkle in his eye, instead of saying “Sorry, I don’t have any money” and walking away with your own empty eyes.

Scary brave means we have nothing to prove. So it means we have everything we can risk.

Because risk or failure don’t define us. Did you hear that? Failure does not define you.

scary brave | circling the story

Okay, true story here: when my husband and I were teenage lovebirds, we went bowling once on a date. Like, how cute were we? Borrowed shoes, the jean skort, rocking out to 80’s music overhead, and trying to flirt between a 10-lb. ball. Bliss, I tell you. Well, about 6 frames in I was a wreck, a grumpy, pouty wreck. Because my handsome boyfriend was killing it and I kept getting gutter ball after gutter ball. I think I seriously had 33 points. But I couldn’t laugh at myself because I was failing at bowling. And failing, even at bowling, was still failing. Do you know what that wise man said to me? He said, “Ash if you’re going to suck at something, bowling is a pretty good thing to be bad at.” Even in those funny shoes, I couldn’t laughingly embrace my poor performance.

So I kept doing what I was good at. School. Standardized tests. Cheerleading. And then College and a Wedding and  Grad School. I just kept going up the mountain where the perfection path was well worn and, from the path, success looked pretty great; I looked pretty great.

And then I became a mom. We all hit a perfection wall, yours might be different. Motherhood was my wall. Oh man, was it my wall. 

I wanted the perfect pain-free birth. And guess what? I had a c-section. All my dreams about “perfection” hit the fan. And there were poopy blowouts, and no sleep, and tears (me and the baby), and milk everywhere. And that baby would not stop crying no matter what I did. I was at the end of my rope. I couldn’t climb that hill any longer. So most of the time, to cope, I chose bitterness. “Look at that other ____ (baby, mom, wife, husband, employed person). They must have it so much better than me!”

But we die on the vine of bitterness.

So today, I’m choosing scary brave instead. 

For me, scary brave means that I’m trying out this writer-gig for real. And it may flop. No one may want to publish a word I write. You all might run and never read a word I type out again. But I’m skirting that perfectionism path and bivouacking through the thickets instead, because I don’t need to sit at the cool table anymore. I don’t have anything to prove and risk feels like the fresh breath of freedom.

Who wants in? Who wants to be scary brave with me? What dreams do you make too safe?

Your dreams can push you into failure, but that’s okay. It’s okay to fail. Failing does not mean that you are a failure. If your book doesn’t make the bestseller list, it says nothing about your dignity as a human being on this planet. Your story still means something. Because we’re all part of a much larger story, and sometimes we can’t see the beauty in the quiet moments, where our stories are forged. We can’t see how the crumbs we sweep up again and again mean something; we can’t see how the onslaught of papers or work projects affects change; we can’t see how our paltry $2 affects the woman on the side of the road.

But I think when the flames burn up all the dross in our lives, what’s left will be things like bravery and story and little acts of love to the least of these. So I’m tossing in my lot with the simple, vowing to focus on the things that matter, and to leap off the edge knowing that faith and calling come through failure. I’m ready to be scary brave this year. How about you?

25 Comments

  1. Stopping by from the #raralinkup. I am glad you were my neighbor today. This post is a great challenge for all of us to step out of our comfort zone and dive into whatever God is calling us too. Nice to find you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I’m also being scary brave and trying out this writing gig… I’ve had the dream for quite some time and it is about stinkin’ time for me to go after it! We can encourage each other along the way!

    Like

    Reply

      1. I am still in the decide and commit stage, but I am leaning towards writing something to the new Christian / young in faith about the basics of faith and how to grow. I feel like we throw alot of cliches and junk at people, like “just pray about it” and “put on the armor of God” but that needs to be unpacked. What about you?

        Like

      2. Ohh, I like that Deanna. I think we all need that. Wasn’t it Spurgeon who said that the gospel wasn’t just how we get into the Christian faith, but the A to Z of the Christian life?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jason for responding. 🙂 I think 2015 will definitely be a scary brave year! No point in just hedging our bets for this life thing, I’m thinking.

      Like

      Reply

  3. I totally get you. I have lived safe brave a lot – fearing failure. It is no way to live. It is so based on others and on myself. It’s so much better to be brave where you take a risk. Thank you for this needed reminder to stay in dangerous territory and to let God carry me! Great words!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Yes…I’m so there! Love love love this post. I used to be safe-brave. Mid 2014 Jesus said to me “get out of the boat and come to me”. You see, I had been putting a toe in, securing and re-securing my life jacket, rowing closer and closer just to be safe. But no more. My one word for this year is COURAGE. A little daunting as I ponder what situations the Lord has lined up what will require my courage but I determined to move forward scary brave. I Pastor in my area says “you’re scared. Ok be scared but do IT anyway. Do it scared. Here’s to scary brave.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Thanks Tyra! I love your analogy of the boat, I’m gonna take that one. I totally keep checking my life vest and rechecking. 🙂 I will for sure check out your blog about your journey in courage.

      Let’s be scary brave together. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  5. Ashley, can I just say, I AM SO THANKFUL I MET YOU ON TWITTER! Scary-brave is just it! I’ve been really wrestling with naming the struggle and here it is perfectly worded and oh, so brave. I’m still trying to figure out what it means for me to be scary-brave this year, but I am so gonna keep that phrase, hold on to it for a bit, and squeeze out all the juice I can. I cannot wait to read you as you press into writing this year. I am again so thankful for you and this post. Thrilled that I get to be a part of the journey. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Stephanie, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words. They mean so much for me to read them, so thank you. I think sometimes being “scary brave” is just doing the next thing that’s nagging at you. I’ve loved getting to know you too on Twitter! Rock on, sister.

      Like

      Reply

  6. I am with you. I want to be scary brave. Need prayer about health and weight loss, seriously. I want, no need to loose 60 to 80 pounds so I don’t have a heart attack. Trying so hard, but I am hitting walls too. Thanks for sharing your inspiration today. 😉

    Like

    Reply

    1. You can do it Mary! Even writing out your goals — I am going to lose 60 lbs — is brave. Well done! And then its just one foot in front of the other. Making little changes day by day that add up and make a new way of life. Here’s to being scary brave together.

      Like

      Reply

  7. OH I love this! I’ve not been very good at any kind of brave – but I want to be… and I don’t want to waste my time with fake-brave! Scary-Brave is where it’s t!

    Like

    Reply

  8. I stinkin’ LOVE this! Like…YAAAASSSS… and “tell it, sister”…LOVE this. So, here is me raising my hand with you saying I wanna be “Scary-Brave”. You rock, girlfriend. Now, off to google what the word “bivouacking” means.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. I’m in! Your writing is multi-generational and is costly because it is Truth but so worth it! I am ready to peel each layer if the onion skin away to that place of vulnerability and scary-brave. I have been there before, but it is time to dwell there. My scary-brave is my painting, but more importantly, just expresssing creativity , without wondering if it’s good enough for a show or to sell. I will just “show up” and paint !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

